Press "Enter" to skip to content

Replay of 2015-16 Loyola Athletics: Sean Smith named Mission League Player of the year

Committed to Connecticut College, a Division III school, to play lacrosse next year, senior team captain Sean Smith was named the Mission League Player of the Year. Smith finished his career as the all-time points leader for Loyola lacrosse.

Smith led the team to an 8-0 record in league play and a 20-4 overall record. Smith scored twice in the Cubs’ victory over Corona del Mar in the Southern Section title game on Saturday, May 14.   

In the Cubs 7-6 victory over Palos Verdes in the LA Championships on Wednesday, May 11, Smith scored four times including the game-winning goal in overtime.  

Smith, along with junior goalie Joe Theuer and defenders Nick Mohler and Niko Econn, was also named to the all-league team for the third consecutive time.

Other Cubs to be recognized include junior middies Jonathan Partamian and Ryder Mora, along with senior long-stick middies Tommy Riley and Max Neblina, who “all earned a second-consecutive place on the all-league team,” according to MaxLaxLa.


Comments are closed.